Sunday, January 19, 2014

Dmitry Myaskovsky Wins ORCA's 2014 Winter Seasonal Tournament

After a one-year break from tournament chess, Dmitry Myaskovsky returns to win ORCA's 2014 edition of its Winter Seasonal Tournament with a perfect 4-0 score.  Myaskovsky defeated Paul Bevans in the final round to seal the victory.  Bevans earned the right to face Myaskovsky with an upset victory over perrenial favorite Chris McKinney in the third round in a tense rook and pawn ending where McKinney overstepped the time limit.

 A total of 15 players participated in the Open section and 17 players participated in the Reserve section.

Open Section Final Standings:
1st - Dmitry Myaskovsky (4-0)
2nd (tie) - Chris McKinney, Adam Dreuth, R. Wade Brooks, Paul Bevans (3-1)

Reserve Section Final Standings:1st - Ruilin Yan (3.5-0.5)
2nd (tie) - Tony Sproehlich, Alexander Hogg, Aditya Gobal (3-1)

The complete crosstable can be found here.

Tom Hudson was Chief TD and he was assisted by Steve Etzel.

Open Section winner Dmitry Myaskovsky (left)

Open Section Second Place - Dreuth, McKinney, Brooks, Bevans (l to r)

Reserve Section winner - Ruilin Yan

Reserve Second Place - Hogg, Sproehlich (l to r)

Reserve Section action

Round 3 - Reserve Board 1 in foreground

Open Round 3

Tournament Directors - Tom Hudson (l) and Steve Etzel (r)

1 comment:

  1. Well attended and successful kickoff for 2014!
    Congratulations to the tournament winners and Wade Brooks, who took the 2013 Grand Prix.